As the Year Draws to a Close. . . .

I want to take this opportunity to thank those of you who have been faithful readers (and even a few followers) of this blog during the past fleeting year. And thank those of you who have taken time to comment on some of the posts, especially when something in them has touched a chord with you. Often, such comments came just when I was wondering if it is worth the effort to keep the blog going.

In my blog, I’ve tried to offer a variety of topics of (hopefully) interest to you (they obviously were to me!) for your consideration. I’ve also tried to include in each post something for you to take away with you, something for you to think about. In even the somewhat lighthearted posts there has been a serious note or a lesson to remember.

Some of the posts addressed the writing craft generally and a few of my writing struggles and successes (and failures) specifically. Others dealt with what I had read, was reading, or wanted to read. Often, the posts addressed anniversaries of significant historical (or serendipitous) events. Many posts were a bit nostalgic. (I find that as I age I long increasingly for those “good old days.”) And a good number of them had a spiritual dimension to them. Whatever the topic, I hope that you found many posts that entertained, informed, or challenged you in some way, making you laugh (or cry?), think, or take some positive action.

If you have benefited in any way from my posts, I’d appreciate your sharing the blog address with others whom you think might enjoy them. One of my goals for 2018 is to increase traffic to my blog site (dlpedit.wordpress.com)  and to gain more readers who enjoy it enough to follow it regularly. Thank you in advance for recommending my site to others.

Finally, I want to wish each of you a blessed Christmas and a productive New Year. Please remember that, amid all the hustle and bustle and busyness of this holiday season, the real purpose of it all should be the celebration of the birth–the first coming–of the Lord Jesus Christ to save humankind from their sins and offer to them the gift of eternal life. And may you carry with you throughout the coming year the thought of the reality that He is one day coming again. I pray that we each will be ready and anticipating that glorious day.

Until next year,

Dennis L. Peterson

Leave a comment